Défi mondial 5 :

Valeurs, pouvoir et inclusion

5 Défis mondiaux – De quoi avons-nous besoin pour donner la priorité à cette décennie?

Les cinq défis mondiaux découlant des consultations sur la Stratégie 2030 consistent en un équilibre des risques existants et des risques émergents, qui sont les plus pertinents pour notre mandat et notre portée d’influence. Celles-ci sont inséparables les unes des autres et sont fortement influencées par les tendances identifiées dans notre rapport sur l’avenir thématique mondial.

Les tensions autour des valeurs se manifestent de différentes manières en différents endroits, créant de nouvelles lignes de fracture à l’intérieur des pays, des régions et des communautés, et entre eux. Les avantages du progrès économique et technologique ne sont pas répartis équitablement, et le rythme du changement mine la capacité de faire face de nombreux systèmes politiques, réglementaires et sociaux, ce qui favorise la division et exacerbe les griefs. Les conséquences de la mondialisation et des inégalités croissantes alimentent le rejet de l’élitisme et attisent le populisme, le nationalisme et les affrontements culturels et religieux.

De nombreuses voix autrefois marginalisées exigent aujourd’hui d’être présentes et associées à la prise de décisions. Dans certains pays, les efforts visant à garantir la reconnaissance, les droits et l’égalité pour tous, sans considération de sexe, de race, d’origine ethnique, de religion, de genre ou d’orientation sexuelle, influencent les politiques et les élections.

Le rôle des institutions traditionnelles est remis en question, car les personnes refusent qu’on parle à leur place, sont moins enclines à faire simplement confiance au statu quo et exigent des changements de la part des gouvernements et des institutions, ainsi qu’une redevabilité et une transparence accrues. Le multilatéralisme est soumis à des tensions croissantes, et certains gouvernements affirment leur souveraineté et remettent en question, voire rejettent, les influences extérieures. Dans certaines parties du monde, l’espace réservé à la société civile et à l’action humanitaire fondée sur des principes est restreint, menacé, voire criminalisé.

Nous voulons protéger et promouvoir nos valeurs et principes humanitaires qui encouragent un changement positif et porteur d’espoir pour l’humanité.

Les programmes élargis d’éducation humanitaire mettront l’accent sur la lutte contre la montée de l’anti-humanitarisme, de la xénophobie et de la polarisation, ainsi que sur l’amélioration de l’accès des personnes dont l’éducation a été interrompue par la guerre, une catastrophe ou le déplacement. Nos programmes d’éducation prépareront les personnes aux défis et aux possibilités du XXIe siècle.

Nous étendrons également les initiatives qui favorisent l’inclusion et la diversité, la représentation et la prise de décisions, tant au sein de nos organisations et réseaux qu’au sein de la société en général. Nous mettrons particulièrement l’accent sur l’égalité de genre.

Contenus associés

POUVOIR ET GOUVERNANCE

L’évolution des structures de pouvoir et le scepticisme croissant entraînent une remise en question des institutions.

Lire la suite

The importance of women leadership in the network

Fine Arnold, Secretary General of Cook Islands Red Cross.

Watch on YouTube

5 Défis mondiaux – De quoi avons-nous besoin pour donner la priorité à cette décennie?

Les cinq défis mondiaux découlant des consultations sur la Stratégie 2030 consistent en un équilibre des risques existants et des risques émergents, qui sont les plus pertinents pour notre mandat et notre portée d’influence. Celles-ci sont inséparables les unes des autres et sont fortement influencées par les tendances identifiées dans notre rapport sur l’avenir thématique mondial.

Les tensions autour des valeurs se manifestent de différentes manières en différents endroits, créant de nouvelles lignes de fracture à l’intérieur des pays, des régions et des communautés, et entre eux. Les avantages du progrès économique et technologique ne sont pas répartis équitablement, et le rythme du changement mine la capacité de faire face de nombreux systèmes politiques, réglementaires et sociaux, ce qui favorise la division et exacerbe les griefs. Les conséquences de la mondialisation et des inégalités croissantes alimentent le rejet de l’élitisme et attisent le populisme, le nationalisme et les affrontements culturels et religieux.

De nombreuses voix autrefois marginalisées exigent aujourd’hui d’être présentes et associées à la prise de décisions. Dans certains pays, les efforts visant à garantir la reconnaissance, les droits et l’égalité pour tous, sans considération de sexe, de race, d’origine ethnique, de religion, de genre ou d’orientation sexuelle, influencent les politiques et les élections.

Le rôle des institutions traditionnelles est remis en question, car les personnes refusent qu’on parle à leur place, sont moins enclines à faire simplement confiance au statu quo et exigent des changements de la part des gouvernements et des institutions, ainsi qu’une redevabilité et une transparence accrues. Le multilatéralisme est soumis à des tensions croissantes, et certains gouvernements affirment leur souveraineté et remettent en question, voire rejettent, les influences extérieures. Dans certaines parties du monde, l’espace réservé à la société civile et à l’action humanitaire fondée sur des principes est restreint, menacé, voire criminalisé.

Nous voulons protéger et promouvoir nos valeurs et principes humanitaires qui encouragent un changement positif et porteur d’espoir pour l’humanité.

Les programmes élargis d’éducation humanitaire mettront l’accent sur la lutte contre la montée de l’anti-humanitarisme, de la xénophobie et de la polarisation, ainsi que sur l’amélioration de l’accès des personnes dont l’éducation a été interrompue par la guerre, une catastrophe ou le déplacement. Nos programmes d’éducation prépareront les personnes aux défis et aux possibilités du XXIe siècle.

Nous étendrons également les initiatives qui favorisent l’inclusion et la diversité, la représentation et la prise de décisions, tant au sein de nos organisations et réseaux qu’au sein de la société en général. Nous mettrons particulièrement l’accent sur l’égalité de genre.

Contenus associés

POUVOIR ET GOUVERNANCE

L’évolution des structures de pouvoir et le scepticisme croissant entraînent une remise en question des institutions.

Lire la suite

Donnez-nous vos commentaires

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Global challenge 5:

Values, power and inclusion

5 Global challenges – What do we need to prioritize this decade?

The five global challenges emerging from the Strategy 2030 consultations are a balance of existing and emerging risks, that are most relevant to our mandate and our scope of influence. These are inseparable from each other and are heavily influenced by trends identified in our Global Thematic Futures Report.

Values-based tensions are manifesting in different ways in different places, creating new fault lines within and between countries, regions and communities. The benefits of economic and technological progress are not being equally shared, and the pace of change is leaving many political, regulatory and welfare systems unable to cope, fostering division and aggravating grievances. The implications of globalisation and increasing inequality is fuelling a push back on elitism, but also fanning populism, nationalism, and cultural and religious clashes.

Many previously marginalised voices are now demanding that they are present for and involved in decision-making. In some countries, efforts to secure recognition and equality for a widening range of social groups – defined by characteristics such as race, ethnicity, religion, gender identity or sexual orientation – are now influencing elections.

The consequences of these changes are being seen every day across a range of issues. Much-loved and well-known institutions are being challenged as expectations change, accountability is demanded, and trust is no longer a given. In many places, the space for civil society is shrinking, with people and communities refusing to be spoken for and demanding change from both governments and institutions. Multilateralism is under increasing strain. At the same time, many governments are asserting sovereignty or even rejecting the involvement of outside organizations in domestic affairs.  Local-led responses to disasters and crisis will increasingly drive international response in the coming decade.

Values are increasingly seen to be a source of division rather than unity, not just globally but also within regions and countries.

At their worst, these transformations risk giving rise to a more disconnected, less humane, less empathetic world. These issues illustrate an unapologetic subordination of human lives to other gains – an anti-humanitarianism. We see this playing out in the politicization of humanitarian crises, making it increasingly difficult for neutral and impartial aid agencies to operate independently.

We want to promote inclusive and fair humanitarian values that encourage a positive, hopeful change for humanity.

Expanded humanitarian education programmes will focus on combating rising anti-humanitarianism, xenophobia and polarisation, as well as improving access for people whose education has been disrupted by war, disaster or displacement. Our education programmes will also prepare people for the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century.

We will consciously invest in shifting power structures in all spaces – communities, institutions, and our own network. At the same time, our work in diversity and inclusion will expand, particularly in our work in support of women and girls. We will recognise the impact gender inequalities have on people’s ability to thrive and increase our support for women’s leadership across all levels of our organisations.

Related content

The importance of women leadership in the network

Fine Arnold, Secretary General of Cook Islands Red Cross.

Watch on YouTube

Power and governance

Extract from the global thematic futures report.

Read more

5 Global challenges – What do we need to prioritize this decade?

The five global challenges emerging from the Strategy 2030 consultations are a balance of existing and emerging risks, that are most relevant to our mandate and our scope of influence. These are inseparable from each other and are heavily influenced by trends identified in our Global Thematic Futures Report.

Values-based tensions are manifesting in different ways in different places, creating new fault lines within and between countries, regions and communities. The benefits of economic and technological progress are not being equally shared, and the pace of change is leaving many political, regulatory and welfare systems unable to cope, fostering division and aggravating grievances. The implications of globalisation and increasing inequality is fuelling a push back on elitism, but also fanning populism, nationalism, and cultural and religious clashes.

Many previously marginalised voices are now demanding that they are present for and involved in decision-making. In some countries, efforts to secure recognition and equality for a widening range of social groups – defined by characteristics such as race, ethnicity, religion, gender identity or sexual orientation – are now influencing elections.

The consequences of these changes are being seen every day across a range of issues. Much-loved and well-known institutions are being challenged as expectations change, accountability is demanded, and trust is no longer a given. In many places, the space for civil society is shrinking, with people and communities refusing to be spoken for and demanding change from both governments and institutions. Multilateralism is under increasing strain. At the same time, many governments are asserting sovereignty or even rejecting the involvement of outside organizations in domestic affairs.  Local-led responses to disasters and crisis will increasingly drive international response in the coming decade.

Values are increasingly seen to be a source of division rather than unity, not just globally but also within regions and countries.

At their worst, these transformations risk giving rise to a more disconnected, less humane, less empathetic world. These issues illustrate an unapologetic subordination of human lives to other gains – an anti-humanitarianism. We see this playing out in the politicization of humanitarian crises, making it increasingly difficult for neutral and impartial aid agencies to operate independently.

We want to promote inclusive and fair humanitarian values that encourage a positive, hopeful change for humanity.

Expanded humanitarian education programmes will focus on combating rising anti-humanitarianism, xenophobia and polarisation, as well as improving access for people whose education has been disrupted by war, disaster or displacement. Our education programmes will also prepare people for the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century.

We will consciously invest in shifting power structures in all spaces – communities, institutions, and our own network. At the same time, our work in diversity and inclusion will expand, particularly in our work in support of women and girls. We will recognise the impact gender inequalities have on people’s ability to thrive and increase our support for women’s leadership across all levels of our organisations.

Related content

Power and governance

Extract from the global thematic futures report.

Read more

Give us your feedback

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.